Skip to main content
Dr. Scott Annin

Dr. Scott Annin

  • Email:
  • Biosketch PDF
  • California State University-Fullerton
  • Status: Faculty
  • Department: Math,
  • Will Mentor: Doctoral students, Pre-doctoral students

Areas of Expertise

Pure Mathematics,

Research Interests



Dr. Annin received double B.S. degrees in mathematics and physics from the University of Nebraska (1995) and his Ph.D. in noncommutative algebra from the University of California, Berkeley (2002). That same year, he became a Professor at California State University, Fullerton. A substantial portion of Dr. Annin's scholarly work involves collaboration with students. He has served as a coach for the CSUF Mathematics Department's highly successful William Lowell Putnam Competition team in recent years, a team consisting of three undergraduates each year in this national competition in problem solving. His research area is algebra, and as an undergraduate, he participated in two projects that inspired many of the projects he has brought to his own students in pure mathematics.

To date, Dr. Annin has supervised 19 research students, eight of whom have come from minority groups. Two of these students completed a Senior Project for the Honors Program (one of whom received campus-wide recognition for the Outstanding Senior Project in 2011), one was a McNair Scholars Program student, two of them are currently pursuing Ph.D. degrees, and several others aspire to obtain graduate degrees. Many of these students have received awards, some of them on a campus-wide or national level, for their oral, poster, and/or written publications (including joint articles with Dr. Annin). In part for his extensive work with undergraduates in research activities in pure mathematics, Dr. Annin has received numerous teaching awards, including a CSUF Deans Award for Outstanding Teaching (2007), a CSUF campus-wide Carol Barnes Excellence in Teaching Award (2008), the Henry L. Alder Award for Distinguished Teaching by a Beginning University Faculty Member from the Mathematical Association of America (2009), and the Outstanding Professor Award at CSUF (2015).